Harassment and Stalking Charges
To make an appointment with Attorney Allison Gaffen about your harassment or stalking charges, please call (412) 540-2400. You can also fill out this contact form, and Attorney Gaffen will contact you shortly.
Are You Facing Stalking or Harassment Charges in Pennsylvania?
It is critically important that you comply with all of your bond conditions, including any provisions about not contacting the alleged victim. If you have a certain type of relationship to the alleged victim (for example, a family member or sexual partner), it is possible that this person could file a Protection from Abuse Order against you.
Pennsylvania Harassment Law
Harassment is a crime under Chapter 18, Section 2709 of the Pennsylvania Criminal Code. In order to convict you of harassment, the District Attorney must prove that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of the following:
a) Intending to harass, annoy, or alarm another person
b) By committing one of the following acts:
(1) Striking, shoving, kicking or otherwise subjecting the other person to physical contact, or attempting or threatening to do the same;
(2) Following the other person in or about a public place or places;
(3) Engaging in a course of conduct or repeatedly committing acts which serve no legitimate purpose;
(4) Communicating to or about such other person any lewd, lascivious, threatening or obscene words, language, drawings or caricatures;
(5) Communicating repeatedly in an anonymous manner;
(6) Communicating repeatedly at extremely inconvenient hours; or
(7) Communicating repeatedly in a manner other than specified in paragraphs (4), (5) and (6).
What are the penalties for a harassment conviction?
Harassment is a summary offense if it is charged under sections (1), (2), and (3). If you are convicted of summary harassment charges, the maximum penalty is 90 days in jail and a $300 fine.
Harassment is a misdemeanor of the third degree if it is charged under sections (4), (5), (6) or (7). If you are convicted of third degree misdemeanor harassment charges, the maximum penalty is up to 1 year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
Stalking is a crime under Chapter 18, Section 2709.1 of the Pennsylvania Criminal Code. In order to convict you of stalking, the District Attorney must prove that you are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of the following:
(1) That you engaged in a course of conduct or repeatedly committed acts toward another person, including following the person without proper authority, under circumstances which demonstrated either an intent to place such other person in reasonable fear of bodily injury or to cause substantial emotional distress to such other person; or
(2) That you engaged in a course of conduct or repeatedly communicated to another person under circumstances which demonstrated or communicated either an intent to place such other person in reasonable fear of bodily injury or to cause substantial emotional distress to such other person.
What are the penalties for a stalking conviction?
Stalking can be charged as either a first degree misdemeanor or a third degree felony. If convicted of 1st degree misdemeanor stalking charges, you could face up to five years in jail and a $10,000 fine. If convicted of 3rd degree felony stalking charges, you could face up to seven years in jail and a $15,000 fine.
Stalking Conviction and Gun Ownership
If you have a stalking conviction, Pennsylvania law prevents you from owning, possessing, using, manufacturing, controlling, transferring, or selling a firearm, pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S. Section 6105.
To make an appointment with a Pittsburgh Criminal Defense Lawyer about your harassment or stalking charges, please call us at (412) 540-2400 or contact us online.
Law Office of Allison Gaffen
401 Wood Street, Suite 414
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone: (412) 540-2400
Fax: (412) 540-3355